Relish’ in Chicago

via Daily Prompt: Relish
Relish

As a Chicagoan I have a liking for relish. Our native, neon green relish goes great on hot dogs and is a fun little trademark of Chicago food. It’s a small emblem of city pride, and another thing I can love about my home. It’s something that I relish about Chicago. But relish isn’t the only thing that I relish about Chicago. I love the skyscrapers, lakefront, sports teams (Go Cubs!!!), parks, weather, and most of the people. The city is beautiful and now that it’s fall it’s more beautiful than any other time of the year, especially with the nice weather. I have a lot of pride in Chicago, it’s something that I consider to be a large part of what makes me, me. And I know I’m not the only one who has this feeling. Everyone has a at least a little bit of pride and love for where they came from. Everyone relishes somewhere. There are loads of songs, and other forms of art expressing these feelings, but my personal favorite is the song “Town I Loved So Well” by The Dubliners and Luke Kelly. You should check it out, it’s very good and might even instill you with more pride for your home town and make you think about what you love about it, and why it’s beautiful. For me it will always be that Chicago-Style neon green relish.

2 thoughts on “Relish’ in Chicago

Leave a Reply

